09 January 2024 / Club News

Next Opponents Maesteg Quins

Founded in 1898 and being reformed under different guises, today’s visitors for most of their years have been known as Maesteg Harlequins.

The club were made full members of the WRU in 1987 and were founder members of the National League Division Eight Central ‘A’ along with Ystalyfera back in 1994. We both fared evens with a home victory each in that season, the Quins finishing 9th , compared to Ystalyfera’s 6th place. Whilst we missed each other the following season, ‘Fera being in Division Eight Central ‘B’, we were back together in 1996-97 when Ystalyfera were promoted in 2nd place. Maesteg Quins finished 5th that season and our better form was reflected in the results when ‘Fera were held to a draw at Maesteg and won a resounding victory at home here at Ynysydarren 62–7. This big win was the last league game of the season for Ystalyfera, having clinched promotion away at Crynant 44–0 the Saturday before. The 62 points included 10 trys and set a record in those 11 players (all the backs, three forwards and a substitute) managed to get on the scoreboard. The next season Maesteg Quins ‘took off’, winning as Champions, being Champions of Division Six Central in 2000-01, and Champions of Division Five Central in 2001-02. We met again in the next three seasons, in Divisions Four and Three South West, where Maesteg Quins were Champions again in 2004-05. During these three seasons Ystalyfera won one game whilst the ‘Quins won five. Division Two proved to be a challenge and in 2008 Maesteg Quins were back in Division Three South West. We met again in Division Three South West in 2009-10. Ystalyfera finished in 6th place winning 11 games and losing 11. Maesteg Quins finished in 12th (bottom) place, winning 3 and losing 19. Ystalyfera achieved the ‘double’ – 22-16 away and 45-26 at Ynysydarren.

In 2010-11, Maesteg Harlequins bounced back with a vengeance, finishing 100% Champions of Division Four South West, and losing 18-28 to Senghenydd in the final of the Welsh National Bowl. Back in Three South West they again finished as Champions with a 100% record, winning all 20 games. Ystalyfera were in 4th place, just missing a promotion spot – losing 13-19 at Ynysydarren and 17-24 at Maesteg.,

Continuing their success Maesteg Harlequins were Champions of Division Two West in season 2013-14, the same year as Ystalyfera were Champions of Division Three South West, the West Wales Bowl, and the Swansea Valley Cup. Due to League re-organisation, this meant that both sides would meet in Division One West Central in 2014-15. This was a full Division ‘jump’ for Ystalyfera, many predicting the challenge to be too great. This was not the case, the ‘Fera finishing 10th with 7 wins, Maesteg Quins a respectable 5th with 13 wins (another ‘double’ over Ystalyfera).

Both sides became well established in Division One, both with strong, growing well established squads of players. In 2016-17 Maesteg Quins were 2nd behind Trebanos, Ystalyfera in 9th place. The next season the Quins were champions with a win for each side at home, the Quins putting Ystalyfera out of the Silver Ball Quarter-Final as well. Maesteg Quins Finished 7th in their first Championship season, and in the COVIT seasons the Quins beat Ystalyfera in Maesteg 16 – 12 on the 12th October 2019. In 2021-22 we met again in a friendly fixture at Ynysydarren, Quins winning 7 – 20. To date Maesteg Quins have won all four meetings since they and Ystalyfera won promotion to the National League Championship in 2017-18.

There doesn't appear to be any tagged photos.

Upload and Tag Photos

You must be signed in to add comments